What is the bioeconomy?

The bioeconomy encompasses all of the economic sectors that refine biogenic resources using physical, chemical and biotech processes with the aim of producing primary, intermediate and end products. The bioeconomy is therefore made up of a variety of sectors that have, until now, been regarded separately; however, because of their common resource “biomass” they are increasingly interlinked with one another. This interlinking brings with it new challenges that have to be overcome. Not only does this involve the development and market launch of new production processes – particularly with regard to the material use of biomass – but also the cooperative collaboration that spans industry borders and exists between economic sectors that have developed systematically different experiences, factors for success and procedures. The valuable biomass resource can only be used efficiently and effectively by working sensibly together.

The joint guiding vision of bioeconomics is to establish corresponding coupled production and cascade utilisation processes whereby the participating branches provide the resources and by-products which they do not need themselves to be used as raw materials in other sectors.

In the past few years revenues from the bioeconomy have risen approximately 13 % per year in the European Union. EU-wide more than 21 million people are employed in all bioeconomy sectors producing around two trillion euros in annual revenues. In Germany around two million people contribute to revenues totalling around 300 billion euros.

Because of nature’s special capacity for synthesis, products made from biomass often have attractive product characteristics that already suggest today a move away from fossil raw materials.

 

Dec 14 Thu
all-day 2017 Bioeconomy Investment Summit @ Helsinki, Finland
2017 Bioeconomy Investment Summit @ Helsinki, Finland
Dec 14 – Friday all-day
Join us on 14-15 December 2017 in Helsinki, Finland for the 2017 Bioeconomy Investment Summit. Over 30 speakers from across the globe will share their views on [...]
Feb 7 Wed
all-day Lignofuels 2018 – Advanced Biofuels & Materials Conference @ Amsterdam
Lignofuels 2018 – Advanced Biofu… @ Amsterdam
Feb 7 – Thursday all-day
This two-day conference aims to bring together key advanced biofuels and  materials stakeholders for forum discussions and networking, including leaders from advanced generation biofuels companies [...]
Jun 6 Wed
all-day The 7th International Bioeconomy Conference @ Leopoldina - German National Academy of Sciences, Jägerberg 1
The 7th International Bioeconomy… @ Leopoldina - German National Academy of Sciences, Jägerberg 1
Jun 6 – Thursday all-day
This two-day conference aims to bring together key advanced biofuels and  materials stakeholders for forum discussions and networking, including leaders from advanced generation biofuels companies [...]
Jul 16 Mon
all-day BIO World Congress in Industrial Biotechnology @ BIO World Congress in Industrial Biotechnology
BIO World Congress in Industrial… @ BIO World Congress in Industrial Biotechnology
Jul 16 – Thursday all-day
This two-day conference aims to bring together key advanced biofuels and  materials stakeholders for forum discussions and networking, including leaders from advanced generation biofuels companies [...]

View Calendar

Future Events

News

Neu laden
Bitte geben Sie den Schriftzug ein!

Cluster-Newsletter Subscription

Die Bioökonomie – Was ist das?

Die Bioökonomie umfasst alle wirtschaftlichen Sektoren, die biogene Res­sourcen mit physikalischen, chemischen und bio­technologischen Verfahren veredeln, um Vor-, Zwischen- und Endprodukte herzustellen. Die Bioökonomie umfasst damit eine Vielzahl von Branchen, die bisher eher separat betrachtet wurden, die aber aufgrund des gemeinsamen Rohstoffes “Biomasse” zunehmend eng miteinander verzahnt sind. Diese Verzahnung bringt neue Herausforderungen mit sich, die es zu meistern gilt: dies betrifft sowohl die Entwicklung und Markteinführung neuer Herstellungsprozesse, insbesondere bei der stofflichen Nutzung von Biomasse, als auch die kooperative Zusammenarbeit über Branchengrenzen hinweg und zwischen Wirtschaftsbereichen, die systematisch unterschiedliche Erfahrungen, Erfolgsfaktoren und Vorgehensweisen entwickelt haben. Nur durch eine sinnvolle Zusammenarbeit ist es möglich, die wertvolle Ressource Biomasse sowohl effizient als auch effektiv zu nutzen.

Die gemeinsame Leitvision der Bioökonomie dabei ist der Aufbau von entsprechenden Koppelproduktionen und von Nutzungskaskaden, wobei die beteiligten Branchen jeweils die Rohstoffanteile, die sie selbst nicht nutzen können, Partnern aus anderen Branchen als Rohstoffe zur Verfügung stellen.

In der europäischen Union ist der Umsatz in der Bioökonomie in den vergangen Jahren um ca. 13% pro Jahr gewachsen. EU-weit erwirtschaften mehr als 21 Millionen Beschäftigte in allen Branchen der Bioökonomie rund 2 Billionen Euro Jahresumsatz (siehe Tabelle). In Deutschland sind es zwei Millionen Menschen, die zu einem Umsatz von rund 300 Milliarden Euro beitragen.

Umsatz-und-Beschaeftigung-BioOekonomie-2009_-1024x511

Aus Biomasse hergestellte Produkte weisen aufgrund der beson­deren Syn­theseleistung der Natur oft attraktive Produkt­eigenschaften auf, die bereits heute einen Roh­stoff­wechsel weg von fossilen Rohstoffen nahelegen.

Jul 10 Mo
all-day C.A.R.M.E.N. Symposium 2017: Watt, Wärme, Werkstoffe – smart & sauber @ Hotel ASAM
C.A.R.M.E.N. Symposium 2017: Wat… @ Hotel ASAM
Jul 10 – Dienstag all-day
Das Symposium ist fester Bestandteil im C.A.R.M.E.N.-Jahr. Im Wechsel findet die zweitägige Veranstaltung in Würzburg und in Straubing statt. Das Symposium greift stets aktuelle Trends [...]
Sep 7 Do
17:00 4. MATCHMAKING “BioEconomy trifft Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft” @ Designhaus Halle, Hochschule für Kunst und Design
4. MATCHMAKING “BioEconomy triff… @ Designhaus Halle, Hochschule für Kunst und Design
Sep 7 @ 17:00 – 20:00
4. MATCHMAKING "BioEconomy trifft Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft" @ Designhaus Halle, Hochschule für Kunst und Design | Halle (Saale) | Sachsen-Anhalt | Deutschland
BioEconomy trifft Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft Das mittlerweile vierte Matchmakingevent am 7. September ab 17 Uhr bringt Unternehmer (KMU), WissenschaftlerInnen und GründerInnen aus der Clusterregion [...]
Okt 9 Mo
all-day EFIB 2017 @ Bruessel, Belgium
EFIB 2017 @ Bruessel, Belgium
Okt 9 – Mittwoch all-day
Okt 17 Di
all-day 25. Fakuma – Internationale Fachmesse für Kunststoffverarbeitung @ Friedrichshafen
25. Fakuma – Internationale Fach… @ Friedrichshafen
Okt 17 – Samstag all-day
Fakuma – die ganze Welt der Kunststofftechnik In ihrer mehr als 30-jährigen Geschichte hat sich die Fakuma Internationale Fachmesse für Kunststoffverarbeitung zum herausragenden Branchentreffpunkt mit [...]
Mrz 21 Mi
all-day FENSTERBAU FRONTALE 2018 @ NürnbergMesse GmbH
FENSTERBAU FRONTALE 2018 @ NürnbergMesse GmbH
Mrz 21 – Samstag all-day
Die FENSTERBAU FRONTALE, das ist die Weltleitmesse für Fenster, Türen und Fassaden. Der Wunsch nach mehr Nachhaltigkeit und Komfort bleibt weiterhin der Innovationstreiber für Fensterbau, [...]

View Calendar

Zukünftige Events

News

Neu laden
Bitte geben Sie den Schriftzug ein!

Anmeldung Cluster-Newsletter